Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Learning Empowers Individuals to Great Heights
  • Girls Down East Butler

    by freshman Sage Fernau 

    The JV and varsity girls’ basketball team both battled the East Butler Tigers in a girls-only night of games Friday, January 8, in Clarkson. Both teams finished the night victorious!

     The JV kicked off the night with a 25-12 win, setting the tone for the varsity.

     The Varsity took the floor next, extending their undefeated season to 12 wins!

     The Tigers were 6-4 entering this game, and they were no match for the Patriots. With a high-scoring first quarter, the Patriots put up 19 points right off the bat and never looked back. 

     The went on to outscore the Tigers 22-4 in the second quarter.

      Junior Makenna Held said, “The East Butler game was a good chance for us to work on pushing the floor and communicating on defense.  We did both of these things better than previous games, and I’m glad to see us improving and taking steps forward.  They were quick on defense and kept us on our toes, so we had to make sure we took care of the ball.”

     Freshman Chloe Hanel led the team with 24 points.  Seniors Alissa Kasik and Kayden Schumacher chipped in with 14 and 13 points respectively.  As always with this Patriot team, there are always numerous threats on offense.

    Mr. Matt Murren, head girls’ basketball coach said, "We came out with great defensive energy and were able to cause turnovers resulting in points. The girls did a great job of moving the basketball and finding great shots both inside and outside. Rebounding was key as we were able to limit their second chance points as we rebounded the ball very well. It was a great start to the weekend of games with the win.” 

    Good job to all of the basketball girls working hard this season and taking home that win!

    Game Stats:

                                        Q1       Q2       Q3       Q4       Final

    Clarkson-Leigh           19        22        19        8           68

    East Butler                  10        4         11        8           33


    Individual Stats: (points, rebounds, assists, steals) 

    Chloe Hanel: 24, 3, 5, 2; Makenna Held: 3, 2, 0, 1 Kennedy Settje: 8, 4, 2, 2; Faith Indra: 0, 1, 1, 2; Bailey Lemburg: 4, 3, 4, 0; Emily Loseke: 0, 1, 0, 0; Alissa Kasik: 14, 2, 3, 3; Kayden Schumacher: 13, 14, 3, 0; Kelsey Moore: 0, 0, 0, 0 Korbee Went: 2, 1, 0, 0



    read more
  • Loseke Signs With Concordia University

    By: Macy Clausen, a freshman at Leigh High School


     Wednesday, January 6, was one exciting day for many people. 

    Senior, Emily Loseke signed to run track for Concordia University next fall.

    Despite wintery weather, Matt Beisel, Head Concordia Cross Country and Track and Field coach, made the trip to Leigh High School for the ceremony.

     Head Patriot girls’ track coach, Mrs. Briana Wietfeld,  had some great things to say about this even:

    “As a coach, one of your ultimate goals is to get athletes who are truly invested and determined to compete beyond their high school years. So, I was ecstatic, to say the least, when Emily officially signed with Concordia University for Track. This is a great school that I know Emily will do great things in athletically and academically. Emily is extremely deserving of this as she is a hard worker on and off the track. Her determination and fight has brought her to this point. I am very proud of her, but first we will see her compete this spring for one more season as a Patriot.” 

      “I'm really thankful for this opportunity,” Loseke said, “and I'm excited to continue my studies at Concordia and become a part of this amazing team. I'm truly grateful for everyone who has helped make me the person I am today”

                Congratulations, Emily!



    read more
  • Girls and Boys BB Wins on the Road

    By: Jessica Hoffman, a sophomore at Leigh High School


    The Patriot girls’ and boys’ varsity basketball teams came home from a night of basketball with wins on the road against Tekamah-Herman on January 9.

     The girls’ and boys’ JV teams started off the night.  Although the girls’ team worked hard, they unfortunately lost in overtime by one point, 13-14 after two quarters of play. 

    The JV boys’ team won their game 28-14. 

    The varsity girls played hard and won easily by 30 points with a score of 59-29, extending their undefeated record to 13-0. 

    "The Tekamah game was a good win for us,” junior Kennedy Settje said. “We knew we had to be the aggressor and come out right from the get-go. We got a big jump on them right away, and that momentum carried us to victory.”

     Coach Matt Murren said, “We came out in the first two minutes and had all five starters score. It was great to see the unselfish play and teamwork throughout the game. Numerous times we had multiple kids on the floor for loose balls, making the extra pass, and playing for one another. It was a great way to end the weekend with a win."

    The varsity boys finished the night with picking up a win of their own. After starting off on a 10-3 first quarter run, they beat Tekamah-Herman by 20 points with the final score of 55-35.

     “This was a very important game for us,” sophomore Mason Whitmore said. “We knew it was going to be a dog fight. Fortunately, everyone showed up and played hard all four quarters, which got us the win.”

    “I was very pleased how we played,” Head Coach Jeff Bachman said. “Our guys played their tails off and had an excellent night on both ends of the floor. This was a very important win for us."

    This win brings the boys’ record to 5-5.

    Girls v. Tekamah-Herman

                             1      2     3     4     Final

    C-L                     20   21   13    5       59

    T-H                     9      3     9     8       29


    Individual Stats: (Points, Rebounds, Assists, Steals)

    Chloe Hanel: 14, 5, 6, 3; Makenna Held: 0, 4, 1, 0; Kennedy Settje: 11, 3, 2, 1; Faith Indra: 3, 4, 0, 1; Grace Baumert: 0, 1, 0, 0; Bailey Lemburg: 5, 0, 1, 0; Emily Loseke: 1, 1, 1, 0; Korbee Wendt: 3, 8, 0, 1; Alissa Kasik: 10, 2, 1, 1; Kayden Schumacher: 12, 7, 1, 0


    Boys v. Tekamah-Herman

                             1      2     3     4     Final

    C-L                     10   13   15   17      55

    T-H                      3     9    11   12      35


    Individual Stats: (Points, Rebounds, Assists, Steals)

    Lance Paprocki: 10, 6, 3, 1; Eli Hays: 9, 8, 2, 3; Kyle Kasik: 11, 4, 7, 1; Mason Whitmore: 8, 4, 1, 1; Trevor Zulkoski: 11, 1, 0, 2; Carter Hanel: 2, 9, 0, 1; Mitch Beeson: 4, 4, 0, 0



    read more
  • Live Stream Schedule

    We've added a LIVE STREAM link to our site menu for easy access:

    Leigh Activities LIVE Stream

    Clarkson-Leigh Athletics LIVE Stream

    Jan 22 - HS BB vs Lutheran High

    read more
Previous FeatureNext Feature

Back To Top