Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: FCCLA >


Ajax Loading Image


Leigh-Clarkson FCCLA Garners Numerous State Awards

Leigh-Clarkson FCCLA members worked hard through the school year to complete STAR projects, chapter projects, and projects for National Program Awards. 


April was supposed to be the time to display all this hard work at the FCCLA State Convention.  But, like everything else at the end of this school year, the convention could not be held in Lincoln due to the Covid-19 pandemic. 


Thankfully, while students were at home they were still able to receive their placings in STAR events, and chapters were still recognized for the hard work they had put in during the school year. 


The Leigh-Clarkson Chapter received many awards and was recognized at state in multiple different areas. The chapter applied for National Program Awards, Chapter Awards, and one member even completed the Power of One Program. The awards were posted on the Nebraska FCCLA Instagram account for members to see. 


Mrs. Megan Hillen was recognized as an Advisor Committed to Excellence. This is her second year receiving this award. She was recognized because of all the time that she puts into helping her members succeed. 


Payje Rayback was recognized as a Future FCS Educator. Payje will be attending Wayne State College after graduating from Leigh to become a Family and Consumer Science teacher as well as a FCCLA advisor. 


Junior Emily Loseke was recognized as a nominee for the Live Like Lisa Award. Emily was nominated for this award because of her actions to teach students to be kind at both the elementary level as well as the high school level. 


Sophomore Kennedy Settje also completed the units of the Power of One Program. 


In addition to these awards, two Clarkson-Leigh members were selected as State Peer Team Officers: junior Alicia Holmberg and sophomore Natalie Brabec.


Holmberg and Brabec were each one of 10 finalists for their respective teams, and the top five applicants were chosen after rounds of tests, presentations, and interviews.  


Holmberg was selected as the Public Relations Officer of the Community Leader Team, and Brabec was selected as Historian for the Family Leader Team.


The Leigh Clarkson chapter received first place for the STOP the Violence Award. This was due to Emily Loseke’s actions to teach students to be kind. They were also applicants for the Community Service award, the Families First award, and Student Body award.

The chapter also received a Silver Chapter Award. 


State STAR qualifiers had already competed at District STAR and had received scores that were used to determine the placing that they would receive at State. Three teams qualified for National FCCLA. 


Silver Medalists: 

    - Cassi Rayback, Brynn Settje, and Macy Clausen

    - Gracie Eisenmann and Tanyn Larson

    - Abbi Brabec

    - Bailey Lemburg and Reagan Settje

    - Alicia Holmberg


Gold Medalists:

    - Natalie Brabec

    - Payje Rayback and Taylor Larson

    - Emily Loseke

    - Baylee Settje and Ella Urban


State Runner Ups: Cassidy Hoffman and Ashlynn Novotny


State Champions: Bailie Graybill and Jessica Hoffman


State Champions: Mitchel Beeson, Madisyn Pelan, and Kayden Schumacher 


National qualifier Cassidy Hoffman said, “Even though we couldn’t physically go to state, our chapter competed very well in STAR events and was recognized for many different accomplishments. Mrs. Hillen was even awarded with the ACE advisor award. I’m so proud of how well our chapter was represented and the success competitors had. It feels great knowing that all the hard work we’ve been putting in all year is being recognized.”


The teams and members that will attend National FCCLA will be attending a virtual conference instead of the traditional conference set up due Covid-19. They will be able to present their projects and attend sessions through their computers. 


Leigh Clarkson Advisor Mrs. Megan Hillen said, “While we are disappointed we couldn't be in Lincoln for the State Leadership Conference, we are so grateful to the state organization and their team for virtually recognizing the students that worked hard throughout the school year. We have seven students who will have the opportunity to compete at the national level and our chapter was awarded 1st place for one of the National Program awards. I am so proud of the students that completed these projects and submitted the applications for our chapter to be recognized.”


Back To Top